Antimicrobials Working Group Announces New Leadership Team

WASHINGTONJan. 11, 2017 /PRNewswire/ — The Antimicrobials Working Group (AWG) announced today the election of a new Chairman, Jeffrey Stein, Ph.D., President and CEO of Cidara Therapeutics, Inc. (NASDAQ: CDTX), as well as Vice Chairs Evan Loh, M.D., President, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Medical Officer of Paratek Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: PRTK) and Eugene Sun, M.D., CEO of Melinta Therapeutics. Dr. Prabhavathi Fernandes has stepped down from her role as Chair of AWG after three years of service.

“On behalf of the AWG I would like to thank Dr. Fernandes for her service to the AWG membership since 2013. Under her leadership the coalition has grown substantially and has become increasingly influential in driving legislation and public policy that is accelerating the development of new drugs to combat drug resistant pathogens. She will be sorely missed; we wish her well in her retirement,” said Jeff Stein, incoming Chairman.

About The Antimicrobials Working Group:
AWG was founded in 2012 with the vision of utilizing collective power to improve the regulatory, investment, and commercial environment for emerging antibiotics and antifungal companies. Today, AWG is comprised of thirteen antimicrobials companies: Amplyx Pharmaceuticals, Arsanis Inc., Cempra Inc., Cidara Therapeutics Inc., ContraFect Corporation, Iterum Therapeutics Ltd., Melinta Therapeutics Inc., Nabriva Therapeutics US Inc., Paratek Pharmaceuticals Inc., SCYNEXIS Inc., Theravance Biopharma U.S. Inc., Viamet Pharmaceuticals Inc., and Zavante Therapeutics Inc. See more information at

About The Conafay Group:
The Conafay Group is a life-sciences government relations firm based in Washington D.C. that serves as Washingtoncounsel and coalition manager for AWG, led by Stephen R. Conafay, Principal. See more information at

SOURCE Antimicrobials Working Group (AWG)

Related Links